Paper Submission

  Workshop Organizers

Best Paper Award

 Program Committee

 Advance Program

Important Dates


Submissions Due:
November 17th 2006 (hard deadline)

Review Decisions:
December 22 2006

Final Manuscript Due:
January 22 2007

IPDPS logo

Proceedings from:
  • 2005 (held jointly with HIPS workshop)
  • 2004

Fourth High-Performance Grid Computing Workshop

March 26, 2007, Long Beach, California, USA

in conjunction with

International Parallel and Distributed Processing Symposium - IPDPS 2007
March 26-30, 2007, Long Beach, California, USA



Computational grids allow the federation of significant computational and storage resources to solve challenging problems in science, engineering, medicine, finance, and entertainment. Involvement of multi-core platforms and wireless communications in the traditional grids comprised of clusters, workstations, and supercomputers pose new challenges to manage the grids and open new opportunities in using them. The High Performance Grid Computing workshop provides a forum for presenting research results on most aspects of grid computing, with a focus on performance, in the following areas: Applications, Benchmarking, Infrastructure, Management and Scheduling, Partitioning and Load Balancing, and Programming Models.

Intel Best Paper Award

New this year, Intel Corporation is sponsoring a best paper award in the area of High Performance Grid Computing. Computational grids allow the solution of existing scientific and business problems faster and at lower cost. To encourage research and use of Grids Intel will award the authors of the best paper presented at the workshop. The paper will be chosen by the HPGC program committee and selected IPDPS committee members based on the following criteria:
  • novelty of the results
  • efficiency of using the grid
  • achieved performance gains in the problem solved on the grid
  • quality of the presentation
Winner: Stephane Genaud, Marc Grunberg, and Catherine Mongenet, Experiments in running a scientific MPI application on Grid'5000


Intel, the Intel logo, Intel. Leap ahead. and Intel. Leap ahead. logo
are trademarks or registered trademarks of Intel Corporation or its
subsidiaries in the United States and other countries.
  • Applications: Theory and practice of composing grid applications consisting of multiple interacting tasks. Solution of large problems on  grids. 
  • Benchmarking: Grid measurement technology for evaluating performance of grid hardware and middleware; benchmark results. 
  • Infrastructure: Implementation and evaluation of computational grid middleware.
  • Management and Scheduling: Management, monitoring, resource allocation, scheduling, and metascheduling.
  • Partitioning and Load Balancing: Partitioning applications for computational grids for achieving high performance, and load balancing of grid applications.
  • Multi-core processors as grid components.
  • Programming Models: Methods for remote execution and intertask communications.

Paper Submission

We invite submissions not exceeding eight single-spaced pages. Submitted papers may not have appeared in or be under consideration for another workshop, conference, or journal. Each paper will be refereed by at least three independent
reviewers. Paper submission indicates the intention of the author to present the paper at the HPGC workshop at IPDPS 2007.

Click here to submit your paper.

Submission deadline: November 17, 2006. There will be NO extension of this deadline. Authors will be notified by December 18, 2006.

The HPGC workshop proceedings will be published by the IEEE Computer Society along with the IPDPS conference proceedings. 

Workshop Organizers

  • Eric Aubanel, University of New Brunswick, Canada

  • Virendra C. Bhavsar, University of New Brunswick, Canada

  • Michael Frumkin, Intel Corporation, USA

Advance Program
9:00 - 10:00 am Welcome to HPGC

Invited talk I: The Impact of MultiCore Processors on HPC Cluster Design, Marc
Hamilton, Senior Director, Global Systems Practice, Sun Microsystems
10:00 - 10:30 am Break
10:30 am - 11:50 am Session 1: Scientific Computing (chair: Eric Aubanel)
  • Stephane Genaud, Marc Grunberg, and Catherine Mongenet, Experiments in running a scientific MPI application on Grid'5000 Winner of the Intel Best Paper Award
  • Benjamin Depardon, Yves Caniou, Eddy Caron, Helene Courtois, and Romain Teyssier, Cosmological Simulations using Grid Middleware
  • Ye Zhang, Guy Bergere, and Serge Petiton, A parallel hybrid method of GMRES on GRID System
  • Xin Zuo and Alexey Lastovetsky, Experiments with a Software Component Enabling NetSolve with Direct Communications in a Non-Intrusive and Incremental Way
11:50 am - 1:00 pm Lunch
1:00 - 1:45 pm Invited talk II: Submitting Locally and running Globally - the GLOW and OSG Experience, Miron Livny, University of Wisconsin
1:45 - 3:05 pm Session 2: Middleware (chair: Michael Frumkin)
  • Antonio Juan Rubio-Montero, Eduardo Huedo, Ruben S. Montero, and Ignacio M. Llorente, Management of Virtual Machines on Globus Grids Using GridWay
  • Richard Zamudio, Daniel Catarino, Michela Taufer, Brent Stearn, and Karan Bhatia, Topaz: Extending Firefox to Accommodate the GridFTP Protocol
  • Chenxi Huang, Peter Hobson, Gareth Taylor, and Paul Kyberd, A Study of Publish/Subscribe Systems for Real-Time Grid Monitoring
  • Satish Penmatsa, Anthony Chronopoulos, Nicholas Karonis, and Brian Toonen, Implementation of Distributed Loop Scheduling Schemes on the TeraGrid 
3:05 - 3:30 pm Break
3:30 - 4:30 pm Session 3: Data Grids (chair: Eric Aubanel)
  • Michael Lawrence, Frank Dehne, and Andrew Rau-Chaplin, Implementing OLAP Query Fragment Aggregation and Recombination for the OLAP Enabled Grid
  • Rajkumar Kettimuthu, William Allcock, Lee Liming, John-Paul Navarro, and
    Ian Foster, GridCopy (GCP): Moving Data Fast on the Grid
  • Ming Lei, Susan Vrbsky and ZiJie Qi, Online Grid Replication Optimizers to Improve System Reliability
4:30 - 4:40 pm Announcement of winner of Intel best paper award

Program Committee

  • Akshai Aggarwal, University of Windsor, Windsor, ON, Canada

  • Nikos P. Chrisochoides, College of William and Mary, Wlliamsburg, VA, USA

  • Anthony T. Chronopoulos, Univ. of Texas at San Antonio, USA
  • Weichang Du, University of New Brunswick, Canada

  • Wolfgang Gentzsch, German D-Grid Initiative
  • Alexey Lastovetsky, University College Dublin, Ireland
  • Thuy T. Le, San Jose State University, USA
  • Xiaolin (Andy) Li, Oklahoma State University, USA
  • Gabriel Mateescu, National Research Council, Ottawa, Canada
  • Francois Pellegrini, INRIA and LaBRI, Universite Bordeaux, France
  • Sushil Prasad, Georgia State University, USA
  • Andrew Rau-Chaplin, Dalhousie University, Canada
  • Thomas Rauber, University of Bayreuth, Germany
  • Ruth Shaw, University of New Brunswick, Canada

  • Simon Chong-Wee See, Sun Asia Pacific Science and Technology Center and Nanyang Technological University
  • Allan Snavely, San Diego Supercomputing Center, La Jolla, CA, USA
  • Laurence T. Yang, St. Francis Xavier University, Canada

  • Rob F. Van Der Wijngaart, Intel Corporation, USA


 - Send questions and comments to Eric Aubanel or Michael Frumkin
     Last update: September 18, 2007